EstDocs Film Festival Toronto

Priimägi studied Semiotics at Tartu University and graduated in 2001, specializing in Film Semiotics. He has been a regular contributor to all the bigger press publications, newspapers and magazines in Estonia, writing about film, music and pop-culture in general. He has helped with the translations and promotion work for Estonian films and film events. Since January 2010, he organizes the DocPoint Tallinn documentary film festival (an Estonian branch of the renowned Helsinki documentary festival DocPoint). He works as a film editor in the cultural weekly newspaper Sirp.

Filmikriitik Tristan Priimägi lõpetas Tartu Ülikooli 2001 aastal filmisemiootikas. Töötas seejärel erinevates reklaamifirmades ja juhtis kultuuriprojekte (graafilise disaini veeb “Beta”, “Plink Plonk” muusikafestival jm). Teinud kaastööd paljudele ajalehtedele ja ajakirjadele, kirjutanud filmist, muusikast ja popkultuurist, teinud filmitõlkeid ja filmipromotsioonitööd, korraldanud filmiüritusi, olnud mitmeid aastaid Pimedate Ööde Filmifestivali valikukomitee liige. Alates 2010 korraldab Helsinki dokumentaalfilmide festivali DocPoint Tallinna üritusi (DocPoint Tallinn). Praegu töötab Tristan kultuuriajalehe Sirp filmi toimetajana

A.C. Peterson

2017 JURY

A.C. Peterson is an accomplished Canadian actor who has recently joined the cast of X FILES for its second season. He has also developed and produced a feature film DARK HARVEST, co-starring with Cheech Martin. Dark Harvest will be released this coming January. A.C. was recently seen in AMERICAN GODS, and will soon be featured in Aaron Sorkins feature film MOLLYS GAME alongside Jessica Chastain.

Ülo Pikkov

2017 JURY

Ülo is an internationally renowned filmmaker, producer and film scholar. He studied animation at Turku Arts Academy in Finland and directed several awardwinning animation films. Ülo is also a publised author, including “Animasophy, Theoretical Writings on the Animated Film” (2011). He graduated from Law at the University of Tartu, focusing on media and author’s rights.

Svetla Turin

2017 JURY

Svetla is the Co-founder, Executive Director and Head of Distribution at Cinema Politica, an exhibition and distribution network for political documentary. In 2016 she launched CP Productions with film maker Amy Miller. Svetla conducts workshops and writes about documentary activism, women in documentary and festivals. She is also a programmer for Sofia International Film Festival.

Inga Diev


Inga serves as the General Manager of Ouat Media, where she is responsible for the company’s business operations and oversees all the film sales and acquisitions. To date, Ouat Media has represented eleven Academy Award® nominated short films including three winners. The company is based in Toronto.

Laurence Green


Laurence's short film Reconstruction won Best Canadian Short Film at TIFF in 1995, and also picked up prizes at Hamburg, Leipzig, Uppsala, Tampere, Chicago and Hot Docs. He has made 10 documentaries, including Thin Ice (2000) and Alter Egos (2004) with the National Film Board of Canada.

Peter Murdmaa


Peter graduated in cinematography and film production from the Baltic Film, Media, Arts and Communication School of Tallinn University. He is an experienced cinematographer and director of documentaries, as well as a producer of short fiction films. In 2014 he founded ShortEst, Estonian Short Film Centre with the goal to introduce audiovisual shorts into Estonia, and Estonian shorts to the world.